Official: Liverpool signs Saido Mane for £30m from Southampton.

The Senegal
international forward
becomes the fourth new
acquisition under Jurgen
Klopp’s charge at Anfield
and he will wear the
No.19 shirt for the Reds
next season
Liverpool have wrapped
up the £30 million signing
of Sadio Mane from
Southampton on a five-
year deal.
The 24-year-old
becomes the club’s third-
most expensive
acquisition behind Andy
Carroll (£35m) and
Christian Benteke
(£32.5m) after completing
a medical as well as
agreeing personal terms
with the Reds.
He is the fourth new
recruit under Jurgen
Klopp’s charge, following
Marko Grujic, Joel Matip
and Loris Karius to
Anfield ahead of the
German’s first full
campaign at the helm.
Mane’s pace, pressing,
versatility, propensity
for shots inside the box,
dribbling strength and
combined 21-goal tally
over the past two
Premier League seasons
distinguished him as one
of Liverpool’s priorities
in the market.
He will wear the No.19
shirt, vacated by Steven
Caulker, becoming the
10th player at the club to
don those digits.
Klopp has long admired
Mane’s attributes, paying
close attention to the
Senegal international’s
progress at Red Bull
Salzburg, who snapped
him up from French outfit
Metz after he dazzled at
the 2012 Olympics.
The 49-year-old drove
the deal for the
speedster, who is
expected to add an
extra dimension to his
attacking options, and
aligns with the manager’s
full-throttle approach.
Manchester United twice
tried to sign Mane over
the past year but
Southampton rejected
their efforts.
On the move, the player
said: “Today is a big day
and I am very happy to
sign for one of the
biggest clubs in Europe.
“It’s a club that has won
a lot of trophies and has
a big history.
“Now I am looking
forward to meeting all
the staff and my
teammates and starting
the season.
“I knew Liverpool were
interested in me, I had
some [other]
opportunities, but I think
for me this is the right
club, the right coach and
the right moment to
change.
“I am very happy to be
a part of Liverpool
Football Club.
“He [Klopp] said he
wanted me to come to
play for Liverpool. I
didn’t even have to ask
myself, I said straight
away ‘yes, I am
interested’ because I
know Liverpool.
“I am convinced
Liverpool are the right
club for me with the right
coach.”
The Generation Foot
academy
graduate becomes the
fifth player to to swap St
Mary’s Stadium for
Anfield in the past three
seasons for a combined
cost of £92m, following
Rickie Lambert, Adam
Lallana, Dejan Lovren
and Nathaniel Clyne.

Leave a Reply

